Eric Barnes is the author of three novels, The City Where We Once Lived (Arcade Publishing, March 2018), Shimmer (an IndieNext Pick from Unbridled Books), and Something Pretty, Something Beautiful (Outpost19), which The Millions called a "remarkable book …  where cars are freedom, stories are everything, and home is thick with ghosts.” He has additionally published more than 40 short stories.

Barnes is also publisher of The Memphis Daily News, The Nashville Ledger, The Knoxville Ledger, and The Hamilton County Herald. Since 2010, he has hosted Behind the Headlines on WKNO TV.

Praise for The City Where We Once Lived:
“Barnes's new novel is a rare and truly original work: a hard-edged fable, tender and unflinching, in which a man's descent and renewal is mirrored by his city. An eerie, beautifully written, and profoundly humane book.” - Emily St. John Mandel, author of STATION ELEVEN

"A stunningly-written tale of loss and grief." - Lindsay Moran, former CIA operative and author of BLOWING MY COVER

"Spare and elegant, Eric Barnes shows us what it means to inhabit--a building, a city, a life. And also what it means to be inhabited--by memories, by ghosts, and maybe, just maybe, by hope." - Elise Blackwell, author of THE LOWER QUARTER

"A controlled burn of a book, full of horror and sadness and, once the fire dies down, the beauty of new growth. In the tradition of J.G. Ballard and Margaret Atwood, Eric Barnes gives us a dying neighborhood of outcasts who save the world that has cast them out." - John Feffer, author of SPLINTERLANDS

“With deft prose and a discerning voice, The City Where We Once Lived is a taut examination of the archetypes and rituals that form the landscape of community.” -  Courtney Miller Santo, author of THREE STORY HOUSE and THE ROOTS OF THE OLIVE TREE

"The voice is appealingly quiet, the atmosphere dreamlike, but the premise of poisoned ground, weather gone haywire, and a government that has thrown up its hands, is frighteningly real." - James Whorton, author of APPROXIMATELY HEAVEN, FRANKLAND and ANGELA SLOAN

more

Praise for Something Pretty, Something Beautiful:
"Elegantly constructed and lovingly, tenderly, savagely written.... The most harrowing portrait of American boys careening into manhood that I've ever read. And the truest." - Benjamin Whitmer, Satan Is Real

more

Praise for Shimmer:
"Case's slow but accelerating downward spiral drives the narrative.... The corporate intrigue should hook anyone fascinated by the collapse of Wall Street and the crimes of Bernie Madoff." -- Publisher's Weekly

more